Event over

download programme

Flauguissimo Ensemble

Andrea Eklund soprano
Yu-Wei Hu flute
Johan Löfving guitar, theorbo

Consone Quartet

Magdalena Loth-Hill and David Lopez Ibánez violins
Elitsa Bogdanova viola
George Ross cello
Rosie Moon double bass
Justyna Janiszewska contemporary dancer
Steven Player baroque dancer

In 1744, the wedding of Swedish Crown Prince Adolf Frederick and Louisa Ulrika of Prussia at Drottningholm Palace was the most splendid celebration of the royal ‘power couple’ and the grand opening to the age of enlightenment in Scandinavia.

As the centre of northern Europe, the Swedish court at Stockholm welcomed foreign musicians and artists from all around Continental Europe with open arms. At the same time, traditional Nordic folk music and dance prevailed alongside troubadours’ gentle ballads and poems. This cosmopolitan golden era unfortunately died away when their son, King Gustaf III, was fatally shot at a masked ball in 1792; the royal family was later deposed and exiled to the Continent after the Revolution of 1809.

In The Marriage of the Northern Star, Flauguissimo recreates Scandinavian and Continental festive music into a splendid wedding masquerade party. Don your masks, dress up if you like, and join this splendid celebration.

Please note: This is not a picnic event, but Scandinavian snacks and wines, including champagne (by the glass or bottle) will be available from the bar.

Supported by Nigel Pittman and the Thora Ohlsson Cultural Fund

Prom Ticket/RVS (on door only) £5


Johan Helmich Roman 1694-1758
Allegro assai – Andante – Presto – Grave

Cantata in einer Taffel-Musik No. 2: Aria for soprano, flute and basso continuo

Andante – Allegro molto – Andante – Allegro – Allegro

Carl Michael Bellman 1740-1795   Fjäril'n vingad syns på Haga
(The butterfly winged is seen in Haga)
Solen glimmar blank och trind
(The sun gleams smooth and round)
Roman   Drottningholmsmusiken
Menuet & Trio – Presto – Vivace
I N T E R V A L    
Joseph Martin Kraus 1756–1792   Cantata La Pesca VB 44
Aria; Andante – Recitativo – Aria; Allegro
Christoph Willibald Gluck 1714-1787   Dance of the Blessed Spirits
from Orfeo ed Euridice
Bellman   Märk hur vår skugga
(Mark how our shadow)
Nå skrufva fiolen
(Now strike the fiddle)
Käraste bröder, systrar och vänner
(Dearest brothers, sisters and friends)
Luigi Boccherini 1743–1805   Fandango from Guitar Quintet in D

Andrea Eklund

Flauguissimo Duo

Consone Quartet

Steven Player as Will Kempe BREMF 2014