Saturday 14 October, 13.00 at Friends' Meeting House

A New Dawn

The Malcolm Rose Memorial Concert: Ensemble Hesperi performs early baroque gems for recorder and harpsichord.

Date & Time: Saturday 14 October, 13.00

Ticket price: £15; 12-25s £7.50; under-12s free

Venue: Friends' Meeting House

The inaugural Malcolm Rose Memorial Concert in memory of Lewes-based  harpsichord maker, supplier and tuner Malcolm Rose. Ensemble Hesperi performs early baroque gems for recorder and harpsichord including music by Byrd, Playford, Froberger and more.

Ensemble Hesperi
Mary-Jannet Leith
Thomas Allery harpsichord

As a BREMF Live! artist in 2016, Thomas often performed on a wonderful harpsichord by Malcolm, a copy of an anonymous 1667 French instrument, and this programme celebrates the freedom and passion of music from the 17th century.

Leading the way into the early Italian baroque, two soaring sonatas from the Stylus Phantasticus by Castello and Pandolfi Mealli are paired with a dramatic solo keyboard toccata by little-known Venetian composer Picchi. From England, catchy variations and Scots tunes, a keyboard fantasia by William Byrd in his anniversary year, and a touch of the 20th century with Rubbra’s meditation on the French chanson Coeurs Désolés; and to celebrate the early French baroque, a painfully beautiful lament by Froberger for solo harpsichord, and a rarely heard sonata by recorder virtuoso and composer James Paisible.


Dario Castello
Sonata Prima from Sonate concertate in stil modern, libro secondo

Giovanni Picchi

James Paisible
Recorder Sonata in G minor from The Detroit Manuscript

William Byrd
Fantasia in G

Edmund Rubbra
Meditazioni Sopra Coeurs Désolés for Recorder and Harpsichord, Op. 67

Henry Playford
Peggy's the Prettiest & My Lady Hope's Scotch Measure from A Collection of Original Scotch Tunes

John Banister
The Division Flute from A Division on a Ground

Johann Jakob Froberger
Lamento sopra la dolorosa perdita della Real Maestà di Ferdinando IV Rè de Romani

Giovanni Antonio Pandolfi Mealli
Sonate a Violino Solo, Op. 3 from Sonata Quarta: La Castella

Download Programme